About Us:

The Oudtshoorn Bowling Club was established on 10 December 1929, with 24 club members. The municipality provided a piece of land off Vrede Street for this purpose.

Originally, a double toilet was built for the use of bowlers and croquet players.

The bowlers had to erect their own reed and grass toolshed, serving as a clubhouse until 1935, when the first clubhouse was provided by council at an estimated cost of 300 pounds.

Eventually the club had two greens, viz. the Kleinscmidt green and the Bram Butler green.

The present club off St. John Street was inaugurated on 10 October 1990, boasting with a membership of 124. After many years of negotiations, the club is now the property of its members. All four greens are highly rated and named after 4 members, honoured for extraordinary services rendered to the club.

    They are:
  • Danie Wannenburg
  • Hannes Conradie
  • Derek Pope
  • Rodney Mileham

The club is managed by an executive committee of 13 members, elected anually at an A.G.M. It consists of a president, 2 x vice presidents ( 1 x male & 1 x female ), a secretary and assistent secretary ( 1 x male & 1 x female ), a treasurer, 2 x match secretaries ( 1 x male & 1 x female ), a green keeper, a building-site supervisor and 3 x additional members ( 1 x male & 2 x female ).

Ordinary meetings are held monthly.

About Us
Contact Us
Copyright 2012  ::  Bowls Oudtshoorn  •